Seven Political Parties Form New Party

Seven political parties, including Patriotic Ginbot 7, have formed a new party after they dissolved themselves.

The other parties are Ethiopian Democratic Party (EDP), All Ethiopian Democratic Party (AEDP), Semayawi Party, New Generation Party (NGP), Gambella Regional Movement (GRM) and Unity for Democracy and Justice (UDJ) party.

In today’s session, they formed a new party named ‘Ethiopian Citizens for Social Justice’ as well as approved a logo of the party.

They are expected to elect a chairperson and deputy chairperson as well as general secretary of the new party today.

In his opening remark, Andargachew Tsige, General Secretary of Patriotic Ginbot 7, said: “the new party has an objective to realize a country that is favorable for all Ethiopian citizens.”

A new chapter has been opened in Ethiopia, he said, adding “we all are responsible to maintain the momentum of this change.”

According to him, engagement in peaceful struggle and citizen-based politics is a preferable path for Ethiopia.