The Prime Minister and House Speakers elected at the opening of the new parliamentary session

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone

On the occasion of the new parliamentary session, the House has re-elected Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn and elected House Speakers of the House of the Peoples’ Representative (HPR) and the House of Federation (HoF) on 5 October 2015. Ato Abadula Gemeda and Shitaye Menale are also re-elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of Peoples’ Representative.

At the morning’s opening session of the House of Federation, Ato Yalew Abate and Ato Mohammed Reshid were elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of Federation respectively. H.E President Dr. Mulatu in his opening speech expressed his belief, and his hope that “this Fifth term of Parliament will remain committed to sustain the successful achievements of past sessions, and focus on the key issues of our efforts to improve our strengths and address our weaknesses.”

“It is a historic moment”, the President added, “as the key event unfolds upon a successful completion of the implementation of the Growth and Transformation Plan One, and the launch of the Growth and Transformation Plan Two, it is a decisive point in our efforts to reach the lower level of middle-income countries by 2025.” Many Diplomats, Ambassadors, Religious Leaders and prominent personalities attended the occasion.

Watch our Embassy’s videos

Oops, something went wrong.