House approves Premier’s proposed new cabinets

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone


House of People’s Representatives (HPR) has unanimously approved the new cabinets proposed by Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn on the basis of their competence and commitment.

The Premier scrapped the previous posts cluster coordinator with the rank of deputy Prime Minister and advisor to the Prime Minister
Cabinet members who remained in their previous posts:

1. Deputy Prime Minister Demeke Mekonnen
2. Siraj Fegessa – Minister of Defense
3. Kassa Tekleberhan- Minister of Federal Affairs and Pastoral Area Development
4. Dr Debretsion Gebremichael –Minister of Communication and Information Technology
5. Ahmed Abitew –Minister of Industry
6. Getachew Ambaye- Attorney General
7. Abdulfetah Abdulah – Minister of Labor and Social Affairs
8. Dr Yinager Dese- Commissioner of National Planning Commission
9. Asmelash Woldesilasie – Chief Government Whip

Newly appointed cabinet members

1. Dr Workneh Gebeyehu – Minister of Foreign Affairs
2. Tagese Chafo- Minister of Public Service and Human Resource Development
3. Dr Abreham Tekeste- Minister of Finance and Economic Cooperation
4. Dr Bekele Gulado- Minister of Trade
5. Professor Fekadu Beyene- Minister of Livestock and Fishery
6. Dr Eyasu Abrha- Minister of Farming and Natural resources
7. Dr Engineer Getahun Mekuria- Minister of Science and Technology
8. Ahmed Shide- Minister of Transport
9. Dr Ambachew Mekonnen- Minister of Urban Development and Housing
10. Engineer Aisha Mohammed- Minister of Construction
11. Dr. Engineer Sileshi Bekele- Minister of Water, Irrigation and Eelectricity
12. Motuma Mekassa- Minister of Mines Petroleum and Natural Resources
13. Dr Gemedo Dale- Minister of Environmental, Forest and Climate Change
14. Dr Shiferaw Tekelemariam – Minister of Education
15. Professor Yifru Berhane- Minister of Health
16. Dr Girma Amente- Minister of Public Enterprise
17. Dr Hirut Woldemariam- Minister of Culture and Tourism
18. Demitu Hambissa- Minister of Women’s and Children’s Affairs
19. Ristu Yirdaw- Minister of Youth and Sports
20. Kebede Chane- Minister of Ethiopian Revenues and Costumes Authority
21. Dr Negeri Lencho- Minister of Government Communication Affairs Office

Origin of the Ministers: Oromia 9, Amhara 8, South 6, Tigray 4, Somali 2 and Afar 1

See the full list (PDF)

Watch our Embassy’s videos

Oops, something went wrong.